Superhero Salad: Kale, Pomegranate, Walnut & Wild Rice with Balsamic Dressing

004006

 8 Days into the New Year, some resolutions are tossed to the side and some still going strong. In the last month or so I have gone through a lot of changes personally, and I am taking advantage of the fresh exciting start that 2014 has to offer. With me this always involves a lot of journaling, inspiring-quote reading, O magazine scouring and dream board making…haha…so I have a lot of free time on my hands.

Back to resolutions, I may as well get mine out there to make myself a little more accountable:

  • drink less wine (okay like 1 glass every 2 days is okay)
  • breakup with chocolate (keep him on the side though)
  • eat 80% vegan (besides goat cheese, feta cheese, chocolate and the odd egg)
  • yoga everyday (the relaxing kind not the kind that makes you sweat heaps)

So there ya go. I am keeping all my resolutions, but to a degree that suits me. Im really serious about the yoga thing though…if I do one exercise it should be one that also clears the head and reduces anxiety.

About this super salad! The credit of its coming-together and overall good looks goes to apinchofyum.com007

I have recently discovered the joys of wild rice, after my incident of being…DUN DUN DUN……out of quinoa!

What does a gal do without quinoa? Root through the cupboard until you find the next grainy item to fill your belly. Turns out wild rice has double the protein of brown rice, loads of fibre and low calorie! Go wild rice go! I knew I wanted to use kale because well kale is awesome…I was thinking of doing some sort of casserole…but casseroles are packed with cheese and milk.

A little research on ways to pair kale and wild rice took me to A Pinch Of Yum’s beautiful salad with walnut and feta. It was like she took the thoughts from my brain and threw them on a plate in the most beautiful way. I adapted it a little bit and changed the dressing into something more easily thrown together.

Take this bad boy to work on one of those crazy hungry days, or make a larger version to accompany dinner!

Kale, Pomegranate, Wild Rice and Walnut Salad (Serves 1 mega salad)

Salad Ingredients (measurements are rough)

  • 2 cups kale chopped very finely
  • 1/3 cup pomegranate seeds
  • 1/2 cup cooked wild rice
  • 3 tablespoon raw chopped walnuts
  • 3 tablespoon feta cheese (optional)

Dressing

  • 3 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • salt and pepper

Prep salad ingredients, set aside.

Combine all dressing ingredients and whisk until smooth and combined. Pour dressing over tossed salad just before consuming. Enjoy slightly cooled.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

