Fudgy Cacao-Coconut Cookies

coo 035                     It is with wide open arms that I welcome back my chocolate addiction. After my guiltless Christmas blitz of lindor’s for breakfast, lunch and dinner I said tootleoo to chocolate for a little while. (Terrible decision, I know).

Although the separation brought on initial anxiety and withdrawal, I was able to push through a month or so without calling on my dark, rich and tasty friend for comfort. I had less cravings, slept easier and my tummy felt great. Life was good. But I missed my dear friend. 043

Then I met raw cacao. Dark, nutty and rich; MINUS a lot of the garbage and PLUS a trillion antioxidants and things that make you gleeful. 041

I had been ignoring cacao for a while I must admit. The ever baffling question of ‘CACAO vs COCOA’ kept me tossing and turning with questions like

  • whats the big diff?
  • what is ‘raw’ cacao and why is it any better for me than my box of turtles?
  • do smarties count as a superfood

these mysteries of life kept me wide awake at night. But then I gave up resisting, headed straight for the bulk foods section and never looked back.

Experimentation with the nibs led me to create these wonderful cacao-coconut cookies. They are dark, fudgy and yes I’m gonna say it BROWNIE-ish. (a perfectly fine adjective). A healthy, and decadent way to indulge your inner chocoholic. I keep mine in the freezer because they taste lovely frozen OR thawed.

Its pretty dang awesome when you can say your cookie is packed with superfoods. 039

Fudgy Cacao Coconut Cookies Recipe (makes about 12 cookies)

  • 1/2 cup oat flour + 1/3 cup gluten free oats
  • 4 tablespoon cacao powder
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes + more for rolling cookies in
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch salt
  • pinch cinnamon
  • tablespoon chia seed or flax seed + 2 tablespoon hot water
  • 2 tablespoon nut milk
  • 2 tablespoon maple syrup
  • tablespoon vanilla
  • 2 tablespoon almond butter
  • 2.5 tablespoon coconut oil, melted
  • 4 tablespoon coconut cane sugar or brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup dark chocolate chunks (70% or higher)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and prepare pan.
  2. Sift cacao powder, oat flour, salt, baking powder and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Add in oats and shredded coconut.
  3. Prepare flax ‘egg’ by combining flax seeds with hot water and stirring. Set aside for 5 minutes.
  4. Into flax egg, whisk nut milk, maple syrup, vanilla, almond butter and melted coconut oil until combined. Stir in coconut sugar.
  5. Fold dry ingredients into wet until smooth and combined. Stir in cacao nib.
  6. Roll cookie dough into about 12 small balls. Roll into coconut to coat completely.
  7. Bake for about 10 minutes.
5 comments

  1. So I think, we’ve established long time ago what your pretty blog does to my stomache, haven’t we? So despite all the drooling and stomche noises it causes, I LOVE IT! Thus, it shouldn’t be too much of a surprise that I decided to nominate you for Liebster Award. Woop woop! Congratulations, Mere! You can check it out here: http://candiesandcrunches.com/2014/02/10/what-exactly-a-tempo-run-is-liebster-award/ I’m super excited to see your answers to my tricky questions haha!

    Kee it up doll! ❤

    xoxo
    Olena

    1. Wow Olena! Thanks so much! I really appreciate your constant enthusiasm, encouragement and awesomeness. Your blog is pretty dang sweet itself, no surprise you were nominated. Looking forward to filling out that questionnaire- should be fun 😉 xoxo -Merry

Leave a Reply

